Recinto Universitario de Mayagüez Mayagüez, PR

Year Established: 1911

The Recinto Universitario de Mayagüez, or RUM for short, is the second-largest campus within the University of Puerto Rico’s eleven-campus system, as well as one of the premier institutions for engineering and science learning in the Caribbean and Latin America.

Located in the western municipality of Mayagüez – which offers a refreshing mix of abundant vegetation, fresh mountain air, and closeness to the ocean – the university campus pairs a community of some 12,000 of Puerto Rico’s brightest minds with the nation’s top researches and professors across its 315 acres.

The University of Puerto Rico at Mayagüez consists of four major colleges: the College of Agricultural Sciences, the College of Arts and Sciences, the College of Business Administration and the College of Engineering. It offers over 50 bachelor’s programs, including three degrees unique to its campus: an undergraduate degree in Industrial Biotechnology, and both a Master’s degree and Doctorate in Marine Science.

Not a stranger to sports, it also offers a sports complex that includes the Rafael A. Mangual Coliseum, designed by renowned architect Henry Klumb.

The beautiful campus of the University of Puerto Rico at Mayagüez is an outstanding example of college life in the Caribbean, where students, faculty, and researchers find themselves at the forefront of fields such as Applied Economics, Physical Oceanography, and Nanotechnology.

Additional Info:

Hours listed are office hours.
AREA MAP Area Map What to See Where to Eat Where to Stay Shops and Services Popular

(click on images to enlarge)