Puerta de San Juan San Juan, PR
The scripture on top is taken from the Benedictus and reads in Latin “Blessed is he who comes in the name of the Lord.”
historical site


Share-button
Contact
About
Features
vCard
Description:

Keep walking past the Raíces Fountain, continuing along the path to the right. Following the city’s fortified wall, El Paseo de la Princesa ends in La Puerta de San Juan. Between 1634 and 1638, the city of San Juan was turned into an impregnable fortress with the building of its walls. Three of the wall’s five doors led into the city, two of them overlooking the ocean – San Justo y Pastor and San Juan. These massive doors were closed at night to protect the city and its residents from attacks by land or sea. Out of the three, the only one that stands to this day is La Puerta de San Juan, once used by governors and religious authorities. Its structure houses a chapel, now closed off, that allowed for the celebration of mass even during times of attack. The scripture on top is taken from the Benedictus, a hymn found in the Gospel of Luke from the New Testament. It reads in Latin “Benedictus qui venit in nomine domini” or “Blessed is he who comes in the name of the Lord.”
AREA MAP Area Map What to See Where to Eat Where to Stay Shops and Services Popular

 
 GALLERY
More_izquierda
more
More_derecha
(click on images to enlarge)