Convento de los Dominicos San Juan, PR
Dating back to 1523, the building was founded by Dominican priests.
historical site


Share-button
Contact
About
Features
vCard
Year Established: 1523
Description:

El Convento de los Dominicos can be found next to the Quincentennial Plaza on Norzagaray Street. Dating back to 1523, the building was founded by Dominican priests. It first served as their monastery and as a shelter from attacks on the city by the Caribe tribes. El Convento later functioned as barracks for the Spanish militia until the Unites States Army made it their Caribbean Headquarters. The building has benefited from restoration efforts and currently accommodates a small chapel museum, a music and book shop, and periodically hosts concerts and art exhibits.