Gran Hotel El Convento San Juan, PR
a convent for Carmelite nuns from 1651 to 1902, now a world-famous hotel
historical site


Share-button
Contact
About
Features
vCard
Year Established: 1646
Description:

Walking down Del Cristo Street you can find the Hotel El Convento overlooking The San Juan Cathedral and its adjacent plaza. Founded in 1646 by Doña Ana de Lanzós, this convent for Carmelite nuns was inaugurated in 1651. The original structure was demolished in the nineteenth century, when a chapel was erected in the neoclassical style. Completed in 1858, this reconstruction included the building’s façade, central patio, and second floor. The nuns left the convent in 1902, when it became an apartment complex and theater. In 1960 the building was refashioned into the now famous hotel. There are several dining options offered inside the historic building and its outside patio.
AREA MAP Area Map What to See Where to Eat Where to Stay Shops and Services Popular

 
 GALLERY
More_izquierda
more
More_derecha
(click on images to enlarge)