Plaza de Colón San Juan, PR
this plaza was renovated to celebrate the 400-year anniversary of Christopher Columbus’s first expedition to the New World
park/plaza


Share-button
Contact
About
Features
vCard
Description:

Directly in front of Teatro Tapia and near Fort San Cristóbal, you’ll find Plaza de Colón. With the completion of the city walls in 1638, the only entryway through the fortified structures and into San Juan by land was La Puerta de Santiago. A chapel dedicated to the Patron Saint of Spanish Arms was erected in the same site, giving the plaza its first name, Plaza Santiago. A procession with horse-carriages in honor of the saint was organized every year up to 1868. On July 25th the image of the saint was carried all the way to the San Juan Cathedral. During the 19th century, the original plaza underwent a series of structural changes. To celebrate the 400-year anniversary of Christopher Columbus’s first expedition to the New World, the plaza was renovated once again. A marble and bronze statue of the explorer, by Genevan sculptor Schille Canessa, was placed on the plaza, thereby giving it its new name: Plaza de Colón.
AREA MAP Area Map What to See Where to Eat Where to Stay Shops and Services Popular

 
 GALLERY
More_izquierda
more
More_derecha
(click on images to enlarge)